Voting in NI elections is compulsory for all residents over 18 years of age.

The Norfolk Island Regional Council is elected by popular vote for a term of not more than four years.  The Council consists of five elected members, with the Mayor chosen by the elected members for a one year term.

NI has only had political parties in the last five years, with branches of the Labor and Liberal parties now in existence.  Most seats in the council however are held by independent candidates.

You can enrol to vote in the Australian Federal election if you:

– Are an Australian citizen; and

– Are 18 years of age or older; and

– Have lived for at least one month at your current address.

All eligible to vote in a Federal election will vote in the Division of Canberra in the Australian Capital Territory.